Expansion Chamber Design Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Boosting a 40 year old 2-stroker ?

2 posters

Go down

Boosting a 40 year old 2-stroker ? Empty Boosting a 40 year old 2-stroker ?

Post by copterpack Sun Sep 20, 2015 5:55 am

Hello,

newbie here...and in 2-stroke technology. I have an old ( 1960's ?) 148 cc Rotax single cylinder engine which I like to use for a rather weirdo project.
According the very scarce info I found, these engines where used in early snowmobiles and as industrial units (water pump-generator etc...).
In theory, the 148 cc delivered around 6 hp at 6000 RPM which probably made these engines last forever.
I would like to boost that "meager" 6 hp to a more realistic "modern" figure. Having said this, I realize that without complicated (expencive ? ) modifications the 1hp per 10cc, giving a theoretical possible 15 hp, will be very hard to accomplish and probably not needed for me.
Let me clarify that I'm not an engineer and being retired doesn't really help with the financial back-up so the modifications need to be as "simple" as possible and "affordable", two very relative meanings......I wouldn't mind to try to fab my own tuned pipe and/or buy a suitable ignition module and /or suitable carb.
What I'm after is more power/torque in the high end RPM range without going the insane high ( 12000-15000 ? ) RPM route.
I have gone through a few publications on 2-stroke tuning but this often made it more confusing for me than clarifying things. Since the engine is just part of the project I don't have the devotion to dive into the art of tuning.
Problem is that I have no clue where to start but I assume that gather info/figures is a good beginning.......
What I have so far is a theoretical RPM of 6000 and 148 cc, not much but "something".

Any suggestions as how to procede from here on ?

Kindest regards,
Gilbert

copterpack

Back to top Go down